On Thursday, June 14, 2017, the Smith-King Advisory Committee gathered for their first meeting on the campus of San Francisco Theological Seminary in San Anselmo. The committee, made up of prominent leaders carrying on the tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., began the day looking back, both at the legacies of Dr. J. Alfred Smith Sr. and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and by looking at the groundwork the Smith-King Initiative has laid thus far. From there, the group discussed how to move forward, exploring opportunities in online education, mental health and more. The day was capped off with a celebratory dinner in San Rafael.

The session was attended by committee members Larry Sneed, Lani Wilson, Robin Walker and Doreen Bullard. Floyd Thompkins and Walter Collins from San Francisco Theological Seminary joined them, as well as special guest Annanda Barclay, a member of the Spahr Advisory Committee. Annanda’s attendance is part of an increasing effort to find opportunities for partnership in the work of the Smith-King and Spahr Initiatives. Members of the Smith-King Advisory Committee who were not able to attend include Charlene Smith, Charlotte Williams, Denise Smith, Henry Williams and Margaret Peterson.

Through a partnership with The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute (The King Institute) at Stanford University, the Smith-King Initiative seeks to continue the legacy of these two civil rights leaders by finding creative solutions to pervasive social challenges. To learn more, visit https://innovation.sfts.edu/smith-king-program/.

Share This